Home > Altcoins > Litecoin

Guide complet sur le Litecoin | Apprenez tout sur le LTC

Litecoin logo
Litecoin (LTC)
...
échange 24h
...
échange 7 jours
...
Capitalisation du Marché
...

Le Litecoin est une blockchain décentralisée de pair-à-pair qui a été inventée pour permettre des paiements rapides, sécurisés et quasiment sans frais dans le monde entier. Il s'agit d'un projet à code source ouvert sur lequel aucune autorité centrale n'a de contrôle.

Le Litecoin a été créé à partir d'un hard fork de la blockchain Bitcoin. Sa communauté a estimé que l'actif numérique pionnier, le Bitcoin, avait perdu une grande partie de son utilisation prévue comme système de paiement mondial quotidien en raison des frais de réseau élevés et des longs délais de transaction. Le Litecoin a donc été créé pour s'aligner sur la philosophie originale mise en avant par le mystérieux Satoshi Nakamoto. 

Qu'est-ce que Litecoin ?

Le Litecoin, créé en 2011, est censé être la variante plus légère de Bitcoin pour permettre des paiements plus rapides et plus abordables. Le réseau est presque quatre fois plus rapide que celui du Bitcoin en termes de traitement des paiements. 

Le Litecoin est conçu pour assurer une meilleure évolutivité afin de permettre une croissance plus rapide. À bien des égards, le Litecoin est également identique au Bitcoin. L'objectif premier du Litecoin est d'établir un système de paiement mondial afin que les gens puissent recevoir et envoyer des fonds où ils veulent sans aucune intervention d'intermédiaires.

Le Litecoin a un token natif qui est désigné par l'abréviation LTC, et au moment où nous écrivons ces lignes, un LTC est évalué à 47,87 $ avec une capitalisation boursière d'un peu plus de 3,1 milliards de dollars.

Litecoin est-il une sorte d'argent ?

Bien qu'il y ait plus de 5 000 commerçants qui acceptent les LTC comme mode de paiement valable, on ne peut pas considérer qu'il s'agit d'un véritable remplacement de l'argent en raison du manque d'acceptation universelle et de liquidité absolue. Cependant, le Litecoin peut être utilisé dans de nombreux magasins de détail et d'e-commerce, car la Fondation a réussi à établir de nombreux partenariats stratégiques.

Est-il légalement reconnu ?

Le Litecoin est un projet de crypto-monnaies décentralisé et à source ouverte, de type « pair-à-pair », qui a été lancé sous la licence MIT/X11. Les réglementations régionales varient d'un pays à l'autre, mais à l'exception des pays qui ont mis en place une interdiction absolue des crypto-monnaies, le Litecoin est tradé sur toutes les crypto-bourses et les plateformes de trading qui adhèrent aux réglementations KYC et AML.

Comment les gens utilisent-ils leurs jetons Litecoin ?

Cela fait presque dix ans que le Litecoin a été lancé. Il existe donc de nombreuses façons dont vous pouvez profiter de la crypto-monnaie.

  • Le LTC peut être utilisé pour envoyer des paiements partout dans le monde, tant au niveau régional qu'international, de manière sûre, rapide et fiable.

  • Le LTC peut également remplacer votre devise fiat dans plus de 5 000 marchants et commerçants en ligne qui acceptent le token comme mode de paiement.

  • Le Litecoin peut être utilisé pour des investissements à court et long-terme par des traders et des investisseurs qui cherchent à faire des bénéfices.

  • Le LTC peut être acheté pour stocker votre capital dans une blockchain décentralisée qui n'est contrôlée par aucun gouvernement ou autorité centrale.

Quels sont les commerçants qui acceptent Litecoin ?

Depuis sa création, le Litecoin n'a pas seulement gagné en popularité dans le monde entier en tant que méthode de paiement, mais il a également conclu une multitude de partenariats stratégiques qui ont permis au projet LTC d'être accepté par des milliers de commerçants dans le monde entier. 

Voici quelques-uns des commerçants les plus en vue chez qui vous pouvez payer avec des jetons LTC :

  • CoinPayments - Il s'agit d'un service qui permet aux entreprises et aux commerçants d'accepter les LTC et autres altcoins comme mode de paiement valable.

  • Ellenet - C'est une société de services informatiques qui accepte les LTC pour fournir sa large gamme de solutions technologiques aux clients.

  • Miami Dolphins - Depuis le partenariat entre la Fondation Litecoin et les Miami Dolphins, les supporters de l'équipe peuvent utiliser leurs tokens LTC pour acheter des billets et des marchandises.

  • Cryptopet - Vous pouvez y acheter des vêtements ainsi que des accessoires pour vos amis félins et canins.

  • Cheapair - Si vous cherchez des réservations d'hôtel, des vols, des locations de voiture et que vous voulez payer avec vos LTC, c'est possible avec Cheapair.

  • Re/Max - Un service immobilier basé à Londres qui accepte le LTC pour l'achat et la location de biens immobiliers en plus d’autres crypto-monnaies.

  • CryptoGames - Un site internet de jeux et de paris en ligne qui accepte le LTC et propose une large gamme de jeux pour votre divertissement.

La technologie derrière Litecoin

Le Litecoin a été créé sur la base du protocole Bitcoin, mais il se distingue par le déploiement de différents algorithmes de hachage, la durée des transactions des bloc, son offre de jetons maximum et une multitude d'autres facteurs. Le Litecoin a été diffusé par GitHub, qui est un client de code source ouvert. En déployant une méthode différente, le Litecoin donne la priorité au temps de vérification des transactions, qui est proche de 2,5 minutes pour chaque bloc. Cela signifie que le réseau a la capacité de traiter les transactions à une vitesse beaucoup plus grande que celle du protocole Bitcoin.

Comment tout a commencé - L'histoire de Litecoin

Le Litecoin a été créé en 2011, lorsqu'un ancien employé de Google, Charlie Lee, a jeté les bases de la Fondation Litecoin. Il a constaté les limites du réseau Bitcoin, telles que la lenteur du traitement et le temps de vérification des transactions. Lee a utilisé une approche différente pour créer une version plus légère de la devise et c'est pourquoi la devise a été nommée Litecoin avec un token natif appelé LTC. Le temps de transaction a été réduit de 75 % pour rendre le Litecoin plus adaptable à un usage courant.

Le minage de Litecoin - Comment les nouveaux jetons sont-ils créés ?

Le réseau Litecoin diffère de celui du Bitcoin en ce qui concerne le minage de nouveaux tokens. Au lieu du protocole traditionnel de preuve de travail, il utilise un protocole de minage de preuve de travail à forte intensité de mémoire appelé Scrypt qui permet au matériel ordinaire de miner les tokens LTC. Cela signifie que toute personne disposant d'un PC ou d'un Mac sous Windows peut miner des jetons LTC sans avoir besoin de GPU spéciaux et très coûteux, ni d'autres matériels tels que des ASIC.

Dans la phase initiale, la blockchain LTC récompensait ses mineurs avec 50 tokens, mais en 2015, la récompense a été réduite à 25 tokens. La récompense continuera à diminuer de 50 % chaque année jusqu'à ce que la blockchain LTC atteigne le plafond de 84 millions de tokens.

Offre - Combien de jetons sont disponibles et Quelle est l’offre maximale de jetons ?

La Fondation Litecoin a plafonné à 84 000 000 LTC le nombre maximum de tokens LTC pouvant être créés. Actuellement, l'offre totale et en circulation de tokens a atteint près de 75 % du plafond et se situe juste au-dessus de 65,5 millions. Lorsque le plafond sera atteint, il n'y aura plus de jetons à miner et les forces du marché telles que l'offre et la demande, la concurrence d'autres crypto-monnaies et l'environnement réglementaire détermineront le sort du prix du LTC.

Décentralisation - Qu'est-ce que cela signifie ?

Dans le contexte de la blockchain et des crypto-monnaies, la décentralisation signifie simplement qu'il n'y a pas d'autorité centrale ou d'individu unique qui exerce une influence absolue ou décisive sur les questions d'une blockchain ou de sa crypto-monnaie. 

Au contraire, ce sont les personnes, les contributeurs et les parties prenantes du projet qui utilisent le vote comme moyen de prendre des décisions influentes, ce qui rend le processus plus démocratique et plus transparent. Cette approche de la gouvernance est appelée décentralisation.

Litecoin comme investissement

Comme toute autre crypto-monnaie, le Litecoin est également susceptible de connaître des poussées de prix soudaines et une volatilité imprévue. Cela signifie que le jeton peut être une source d'investissement importante pour les traders qui peuvent utiliser ces fluctuations à leur avantage. 

Cependant, d'un autre côté, cette même volatilité peut aussi anéantir votre capital en quelques minutes. C'est pourquoi, lorsque vous investissez dans le LTC, assurez-vous d'avoir fait vos recherches et d'avoir pris des mesures pour réduire le risque de votre investissement en investissant dans différents jetons par exemple, c'est-à-dire en ayant un portefeuille diversifié.

Pourquoi devriez-vous investir dans le Litecoin ?

Il existe de nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles vous voudriez investir dans le LTC ou dans tout autre token d'ailleurs. Veuillez vous assurer que vous comprenez la cause sous-jacente de votre investissement afin de pouvoir choisir la stratégie d'investissement adéquate. Certaines de ces raisons sont énumérées ci-dessous :

  • Vous pouvez investir dans le LTC ou d'autres altcoins pour générer une source de revenus secondaires qui peut compléter vos revenus primaires.

  • Vous pouvez placer votre revenu disponible dans un actif ou un environnement décentralisé qui n'est pas sous l'influence du gouvernement.

  • Vous cherchez à obtenir un rendement à long-terme de votre investissement en conservant vos LTC pendant des mois, voire des années.

  • Vous pouvez croire au projet Litecoin et vouloir le soutenir en investissant dans son jeton.

Prix et volatilité - Pourquoi le prix est-il si volatile ?

Le fait d'être un projet décentralisé signifie que toutes les forces du marché ont un impact sur le prix du LTC, ce qui conduit à une certaine volatilité. C'est le même phénomène que l'on observe avec d'autres crypto-monnaies. Des derniers développements technologiques aux nouveaux entrants sur le marché des altcoins en passant par l'acceptation sociale et les opinions des influenceurs, tout peut faire monter et descendre la tendance des prix en quelques heures. Cette même volatilité est utilisée par de nombreux traders pour réaliser des profits en investissant de manière intelligente.

Où acheter des jetons Litecoin ?

Le Litecoin est l'un des premiers projets de crypto-monnaie et est disponible sur une large gamme de crypto-bourses et de plateformes de trading. Cependant, vous devez tenir compte de différents facteurs avant de choisir une plateforme pour acheter des LTC. Ces facteurs comprennent la convivialité de la plateforme, les frais de transaction, le service client et la réputation. Voici quelques-uns de nos crypto-bourses préférées :

  • eToro - Lorsqu'il s'agit de plateformes de copy trading, eToro est sans égal. Avec une large gamme de CFD sur crypto-monnaies, une expérience conviviale, des frais de transaction abordables et des conseils d'experts en crypto-monnaies, vous ne pouvez pas vous tromper avec eToro.

  • Plus500 - Avec des années d'héritage derrière elle, Plus500 s'est transformée en l'une des meilleures plateformes de trading de crypto-monnaie. Vous pouvez y acheter des jetons Litecoin et de nombreux autres altcoins, y compris XRP, BTC, ETH, XLM et plus encore.

  • FXTB - Bien que créée principalement pour trader sur le Forex comme son nom l'indique, la plateforme FXTB a su tirer parti de sa bonne réputation pour devenir l'une des principales plateformes de crypto-monnaies où vous pouvez acheter facilement des LTC et de nombreuses autres crypto-monnaies.

Où stocker vos jetons Litecoin ?

Le moyen le plus sûr de stocker vos tokens Litecoin est un portefeuille de crypto-monnaies et non votre compte de crypto-bourse. C'est pourquoi vous devez investir dans un bon portefeuille, surtout si vous allez conserver vos tokens LTC pendant une longue période ou si vous voulez vous lancer dans le trading de crypto-monnaies de manière sérieuse et professionnelle.

Que sont les portefeuilles ?

Les portefeuilles en crypto-monnaies se présentent sous la forme de gadgets matériels comme des clés USB ou des applications logicielles que vous pouvez installer sur votre ordinateur ou votre smartphone. Ils offrent des caractéristiques particulières liées au trading, à la sécurité et au stockage qui permettent de garantir que vos tokens LTC restent à l'abri de toute vulnérabilité.

Quels sont les types de portefeuilles disponibles ?

Il existe différents types de portefeuilles sur le marché :

Portefeuille internet

Les portefeuilles Internet sont généralement ceux qui sont présents sur le compte d'une crypto-bourse où vous pouvez vous connecter à l'aide d'un identifiant sécurisé. Ils offrent une meilleure accessibilité et sont conviviaux, mais n'offrent pas beaucoup de fonctions de sécurité. 

Portefeuille mobile

Les portefeuilles mobiles assurent une plus grande portabilité aux traders qui veulent acheter, vendre et trader en déplacement. Ils se présentent sous la forme d'applications iOS ou Android qui peuvent être installées sur votre téléphone. Ils sont conviviaux et offrent une meilleure sécurité que les portefeuilles internet. LoafWallet et Jaxx sont de bonnes options mobiles pour le stockage de LTC.

Portefeuille de bureau

Il s'agit d'applications de bureau qui peuvent être installées sur votre PC ou Mac Windows pour stocker vos LTC. Elles offrent de meilleures fonctions de sécurité et sont dotées d'une option de trading intégrée qui peut s'avérer très pratique. Les portefeuilles Exodus et Atomic sont de bonnes options si vous voulez un portefeuille de bureau.

Portefeuille matériel

Lorsque la sécurité est votre priorité absolue, vous devez opter pour un portefeuille matériel qui est en rupture totale avec le monde extérieur puisqu'il n'a aucune capacité de connexion à Internet. De plus, ils sont sécurisés avec l’authentification à deux facteur (2FA) et des phrases secrètes spéciales pour assurer une meilleure sécurité. Le Ledger Nano S/X et le Trezor sont de bons choix pour le stockage de LTC.

Combinaisons de portefeuilles

Vous avez également la possibilité d'utiliser une combinaison de différents portefeuilles, car beaucoup d'entre eux peuvent être reliés entre eux. Vous bénéficiez ainsi du meilleur de la sécurité, de la convivialité, des caractéristiques, de la fiabilité et de la commodité - par exemple, le Ledger Nano S en combinaison avec le portefeuille Atomic. 

Stockage de votre portefeuille sur une crypto-bourse - Les avantages et les inconvénients potentiels

Bien qu'il n'y ait rien de mal à garder votre investissement LTC dans le portefeuille de la plateforme d’échange utilisée, vos jetons ne seront pas totalement sécurisés de par la conception même de ce type de portefeuille. Le site internet peut être fermé n'importe quand, ce qui vous empêcherait d'accéder à vos fonds. De même, les sites internet de grande notoriété sont souvent victimes de piratages, ce qui signifie que vous risquez de vous faire voler vos jetons. 

C'est pourquoi il est toujours préférable de conserver vos jetons dans un portefeuille dédié.

FAQ

  1. Si vous voulez le meilleur de la sécurité, optez pour les portefeuilles matériels tels que le Ledger Nano S ou X ou Trezor. Sinon, Atomic Wallet, Jaxx ou Exodus peuvent également être de bons choix de portefeuilles logiciels.

  2. Le Litecoin utilise le protocole de preuve de travail Scrypt, ce qui signifie que des ordinateurs ordinaires fonctionnant sous Windows ou MacOS peuvent être utilisés pour miner des LTC.

  3. Si vous comptez investir dans le LTC, faites vos recherches, lisez les avis d’experts et diversifiez également votre portefeuille en investissant dans différents jetons.

  4. Le Litecoin est l'une des crypto-monnaies les plus largement acceptées en dehors du Bitcoin et peut être utilisé dans des milliers de magasins de détail et d'e-commerce pour faire des achats.

  5. Absolument ! La blockchain Litecoin est un réseau décentralisé qui ne peut pas être influencé par un individu ou une autorité centrale comme un gouvernement ou une organisation puissante.

Crypto-monnaies alternatives

Home > Altcoins > Litecoin
Litecoin logo

Litecoin Guide | Learn Everything About LTC

Litecoin logo
Litecoin (LTC)
...
24H Change
...
7 DAYS CHANGE
...
Market Cap
...

Litecoin is a decentralised peer-to-peer blockchain that has been invented to enable quick and near-zero fee payments all across the globe in a secure manner. It is an open-source project with no central authorities having control over it.

Litecoin was created as a hard-fork of the Bitcoin blockchain. Its community felt that the pioneering digital currency, Bitcoin, had lost much of its intended use as an everyday global payments system due to high network fees and lengthy transaction times. Litecoin (LTC) was therefore created to align with the original philosophy put forth by the mysterious Satoshi Nakamoto. In this article you will learn what is Litecoin and how it works.

What is Litecoin?

Litecoin, created in 2011, is meant to be the lighter variant of Bitcoin to allow quick and affordable payments. It's almost four times as fast as Bitcoin in terms of payment processing. Litecoin is built to ensure enhanced scalability for quicker growth. In many ways, Litecoin is also identical to bitcoin, and that's precisely why a silver coin often denotes it as opposed to Bitcoin's gold. The primary objective of Litecoin is to establish a global payment system so that people can receive and send funds anywhere they want without any involvement of intermediaries.

Litecoin has a native token which is denoted by the abbreviation LTC, and at the time of writing, LTC is priced at $47.87 with a market ca of just over $3.1 billion.

Litecoin Blockchain Vs Bitcoin Blockchain

As LTC is essentially a fork of bitcoin core (BTC), they are in most regards technically nearly identical. With substantial industry support, trade volume and liquidity, litecoin is commonly referred to as a proven medium of commerce complementary to bitcoin. However, litecoin does have some technical differences compared to bitcoin:

  • the litecoin blockchain aims to process a block every 2.5 minutes, rather than Bitcoin's 10 minutes, which allows for faster transaction confirmation of almost four times.
  • the litecoin network has a target of 84 million Litecoins, whereas bitcoin’s target is 21 million BTC.
  • litecoin miners use a diiferent proof of work hashing algorithm –scrypt- whereas bitcoin uses the SHA-256 hashing algorithm. Scrypt requires more resources and it’s therefore generally accepted to be the best deterrent for malicious, brute force attacks on a network; but, mining hardware for scrypt is also more expensive. For those interested Litecoins 'Top Hashers', see how many Litecoins they can earn per day.
  • the litecoin blockchain also uses a slightly modified graphical user interface (GUI) compared to bitcoin.

Because the LTC blockchain is capable of handling higher transaction volume than its counterpart bitcoin, merchants get faster confirmation times. litecoin vs bitcoin 

And, due to more frequent block generation, the network supports more transactions without a need to modify the software in the future. Litecoin’s wallet encryption allows you to secure your wallet, so that you can view transactions and your account balance, but are required to enter your password before spending litecoins; this provides protection from wallet-stealing viruses and trojans. In May 2017, Litecoin became the first of the top cryptocurrencies to adopt Segregated Witness (SegWit). Also during May 2017, history was made when the first Lightning Network transaction –which uses off-blockchain SegWit protocols- was completed through the litecoin network; transferring 0.00000001 LTC from Zurich to San Francisco in under one second.

Litecoin creator

The litecoin founder is Charlie Lee, a former Google employee. He released the litecoin blockchain via an open-source client on GitHub on 7 October 2011 and it went live shortly thereafter on the 13th.

Is Litecoin a Type of Money?

Although there are more than 5,000 merchants that accept LTC as a valid payment mode, it cannot be considered as a true replacement of money due to the lack of universal acceptance and absolute liquidity. However, Litecoin can be used at many retail and e-commerce stores as the foundation has been successful at establishing many strategic partnerships.

Is it Legally Recognized?

The short answer is yes. Litecoin is a decentralised open-source peer to peer cryptocurrency project that has been released under the MIT/X11 license. Regional regulations would vary from country to country, however, barring countries that have put an absolute ban on cryptocurrencies, Litecoin has been trading on all of the trading platforms and exchanges that adhere to KYC and AML regulations.

What Do People Use Litecoin For?

It has been almost a decade since LTC was launched so there are many applications for the cryptocurrency that you can benefit from.

  • LTC can be used to send payments anywhere in the world, both regionally and internationally, in a secure, quick, and reliable manner.

  • LTC can also act as your currency replacement since 5,000+ brick and mortar, as well as online merchants, accept the token as a payment mode.

  • Litecoin can be used to make both short and long term investments by traders and investors who are looking to earn profits.

  • LTC can be bought to store your capital in a decentralised blockchain that is not controlled by any government or central authority.

What Merchants Accept Litecoin?

Since its inception, Litecoin hasn't only gained popularity across the globe as a payment method but also struck a multitude of strategic partnerships that have allowed the LTC project to be accepted by thousands of merchants all over the world. Some of the high profile merchants include the following:

  • CoinPayments - It is a service that enables businesses and merchants to accept LTC and other altcoins as a valid payment mode.

  • Ellenet - It is an IT service company that accepts LTC to provide its wide range of technological solutions to the clients.

  • Miami Dolphins - Since the partnership between Litecoin Foundation and Miami Dolphins, the team fans can use LTC to purchase tickets and merchandise.

  • Cryptopet - Here you can buy apparels as well as accessories for your feline and canine friends.

  • Cheapair - If you are looking for hotel bookings, flights, car rentals and want to pay with your LTC, this is the service you'd want to use.

  • Re/Max - A London-based real estate service that accepts LTC for buying and renting properties apart from other cryptocurrencies.

  • CryptoGames - An online gambling and gaming website that accepts LTC and offers a wide range of games for your entertainment.

The Technology behind Litecoin

What is Litecoin

Litecoin has been created on the basis of the Bitcoin protocol, but it distinguishes itself in terms of deploying different hashing algorithms, block transaction duration, hard cap, and a multitude of other factors. LTCwas released through GitHub, which is an open-source code client. By deploying a different method, Litecoin prioritises transaction verification time which is close to 2.5 minutes for every block. It means that the network has the capability of processing transactions at a much greater speed compared to the Bitcoin protocol.

How it All Started - The History of Litecoin

Litecoin was created in 2011, when a former Google employee, Charlie Lee, laid the groundwork for Litecoin Foundation. He saw the limitations present within the bitcoin network, such as slow processing speed and transaction verification time. Lee used a different approach to create a lighter version of the currency, and that's why the currency was named as LTC with a native token referred to as LTC. The transaction time was cut down by 75% to make Litecoin more adaptable for mainstream use.

Mining Litecoin - How Are New Coins Created?

Litecoin differs from Bitcoin when it comes to mining new tokens. Instead of the traditional proof-of-work protocol, it uses a memory-intensive proof-of-work mining protocol called Scrypt which enables regular hardware to mine LTC tokens. It means that everyone with a Windows PC or a Mac can mine LTC without requiring special and highly expensive GPUs and other hardware such as ASIC. That kind of hardware isn't required for mining LTC.

In the initial phase, LTC blockchain rewarded 50 tokens, but in 2015 it was cut down to 25 tokens. The reward will continue to decrease by 50% every year as LTC blockchain reaches the hard cap of 84 million tokens.

Supply - How Many Coins Are Available, What if They Run Out?

Litecoin Foundation has put a hard cap on the maximum supply of LTC tokens which is at 84,000,000 LTC. Currently, the total and circulating supply of tokens has reached almost 75% of the hard cap and is around the figure of just above 65.5 million. When the hard cap is reached, there will be no more coins to mine, and the market forces such as demand and supply, competition from other cryptocurrencies, and regulatory environment will determine the fate of LTC in terms of its price.

Decentralisation - What does it mean?

In the context of blockchain and cryptocurrency, decentralisation simply means that there is no central authority or no single individual who yields absolute or decisive influence over the matters of a blockchain or its cryptocurrency. Instead, it is the people, contributors, and stakeholders of the project who use voting as a means of making influential decisions to make the process more democratic and transparent. This governance approach is called decentralization.

Litecoin as an Investment

Just like any other cryptocurrency, Litecoin is also susceptible to sudden surges and unforeseen volatility. It means that it can be a great source of investment for short-term traders and investors who can use these surges to their benefit. However, on the other hand, the same volatility can also wipe out your capital in a matter of minutes. That's why, when you are investing in LTC, make sure that you have done your research and have taken steps to de-risk your investment by investing in different coins - that is by having a diverse portfolio.

Why Should You Invest?

There are a wide variety of reasons why you would want to invest in LTC or any other token for that matter. Please ensure that you understand your underlying cause of investment so you can choose the adequate strategy for investment. Some of these reasons are listed below:

  • You may want to invest in LTC or other altcoins to generate a source of secondary income that can complement your primary income.

  • You may want to park your disposable income in a decentralised asset or environment that's not under the influence of the government.

  • You are looking to make a long-term return on your investment by holding LTC for months or even years.

  • You may believe in the LTC project and want to become one of the contributing stakeholders.

Price and Volatility - Why is the Price So Volatile?

Being a decentralised project means that all the market forces have an impact on the price of LTC, which leads to volatility. It is the same phenomenon that’s observed with other cryptocurrencies. From the latest technological developments and new altcoin entrants to social acceptance and influencers' opinions, anything can drive the price trend upwards and downwards in a matter of hours. The same volatility is also used by many traders to earn profits by smart investing.

Where to Buy Litecoin

Being one of the first cryptocurrency projects, Litecoin is available on a wide range of crypto exchanges and trading platforms. However, you need to take different factors into account before choosing a platform to buy LTC. These factors include user-friendliness of the platform, transaction charges, customer support, and reputation. Some of our top favourite crypto exchanges include the following:

  • eToro – When it comes to copy trading platforms, eToro is second to none. With a wide range of cryptocurrency CFDs, user-friendly experience, affordable transaction charges, and expert crypto advice, you can’t go wrong with eToro.

  • FXTB – Although created primarily for dealing in forex trading as the name suggests, FXTB has leveraged its good reputation to become one of the leading cryptocurrency platforms where you can buy LTC and many other cryptocurrencies with ease.

Where to Store Litecoin

The safest way to store your Litecoin is a cryptocurrency wallet and not your exchange account. This is why you need to invest in a good crypto wallet if you are going to hold your LTC tokens for a long time or you want to get into serious or professional cryptocurrency trading.

What Are Crypto Wallets?

Cryptocurrency wallets come either in the form of hardware gadgets like flash drives or software applications that you can install on your computer or smartphone. They have special features related to trading, security, and storage that help to ensure that your LTC tokens stay safe and secure from any vulnerability.

What Types of Wallets Are Available?

There are different types of wallets available on the market, including the following:

Web Wallet

Web wallets are usually those that are present within the account of a cryptocurrency exchange where you can log into them using secure credentials. They provide better accessibility and are user-friendly but don’t offer a lot of security features. 

Mobile Wallet

Mobile wallets ensure greater portability for those traders who want to buy, sell, and trade on the go. They come in the form of iOS or Android apps which can be installed on your phone. They are user-friendly and offer better security as compared to web wallets. LoafWallet and Jaxx are good mobile options for storing LTC.

Desktop Wallet

These are desktop applications that can be installed on your Windows PC or iMac to store your LTC. They offer better security features and come with a built-in trading option that can come in quite handy. Exodus and Atomic Wallets are good options if you want a desktop wallet.

Hardware Wallet

When security is your absolute priority, you need to go for a hardware wallet that is in complete disconnect with the outer world since it has no internet connection ability. Moreover, they are also secured with 2FA and special passphrases to ensure better security. Ledger Nano S/X and Trezor are good choices for storing LTC.

Wallet Combinations

You also have the option to use a combination of different wallets since many of them can be interconnected with each other. This way, you get the best of security, user-friendliness, features, reliability, and convenience—for example, Ledger Nano S in combination with Atomic wallet. 

Storing Your Wallet on an Exchange - Potential Upsides & Downsides

While there is nothing wrong with holding your LTC in exchange’s wallet, they are not secure by design. The website can go down at any time, making it impossible for you to access your funds. Similarly, high profile websites are often the victim of security breaches which means that you run the risk of losing your coins. That’s why it’s always better to hold your coins in a dedicated wallet.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. If you want the best of security, then go with the hardware wallets such as Ledger Nano S or X or Trezor. Otherwise, Atomic Wallet, Jaxx, or Exodus can also be a good software option

  2. Litecoin uses Scrypt proof-of-work protocol which means that regular computers running Windows or macOS can be used to mine LTC.

  3. If you are going to invest in LTC, do your research, read expert reviews, and also diversify your portfolio by investing in different coins.

  4. Litecoin is one of the most widely accepted cryptocurrencies apart from Bitcoin and can be used at thousands of retail and e-commerce stores for shopping.

  5. Absolutely! Litecoin blockchain is a decentralised network which cannot be influenced by any single individual or a central authority like a government or a powerful organisation.

Alternative Cryptocurrencies

Cardano logo
Cardano
ADA
...
...
Qtum logo
Qtum
QTUM
...
...
WAX logo
WAX
WAXP
...
...
Populous logo
Populous
PPT
...
...
Wanchain logo
Wanchain
WAN
...
...
Pac Global logo
Pac Global
PAC
...
...
We use cookies to personalise content & ads, provide social media features and offer you a better experience. By continuing to browse the site or clicking "OK, Thanks" you are consenting to the use of cookies on this website.